happy to help

I often get emails with the subject line reading, help or question, or desperate to find . . .

I am always happy to help if I can! Most often or not an enquiry comes in about a crocheted blanket seen on a TV show, and usually I can point the person in the direction of the stitch pattern or if I have time I’ll quickly write up a pattern.

This weeks afghan in question is the one pictured below. It’s from the TV series, Breaking Bad. Now I’ve never seen this show but apparently it features quite a few afghans, so great to hear that crochet is showing up more and more on our TV screens!


Now, at first glance, to me, it seems it’s worked in rows, I think we can all agree on that one.  As for the colours, I’m seeing, black, lemon, biscuit, rust, black, tangerine, tomato, off-white, olive, repeat. Now for the stitch pattern, it goes by many names, in certain circles it’s known as the Harlequin stitch, the Star Shell, the Wheel stitch and also the Catherine Wheel. Whew!

I think it’s a pretty groovy stitch and if you’ve made the Wool Eater then you’ll find it’s kind of similar.

So, if you fancy giving it a whirl I’ve drafted the pattern so you can make your own Breaking Bad afghan, let’s get started!

Hooks at the ready!

Note, the ch 50 below is purely to make a sample piece, to hook a blanket then naturally work an amount of chain required for the width you’d like your blanket to be. Also use your preferred method of changing colours when required at the end of the rows.

* * * Pattern is written in Australian terminology. * * *

With black ch 50.

Row 1: Work 1 dc into second ch from hook, * skip 3 ch, work 9 tr into next ch, skip 3 ch, work 1 dc into next ch, rep from * across.

Ch 2, turn.

Row 2: (Lemon) Work 1 tr into each of the next 4 stitches (ensuring to leave the last remaining loop of each stitch on the hook) yarn over and draw the yarn through all 5 loops on the hook, * ch 1, ch 3, work 1 dc into next tr, ch 3, work 1 tr into each of the next 9 stitches (ensuring to leave the last remaining loop of each stitch on the hook) yarn over and draw the yarn through all 10 loops on the hook, rep from * ending with ch 1, ch 3, work 1 dc into next tr, ch 3, work 1 tr into each of the next 5 stitches (ensuring to leave the last remaining loop of each stitch on the hook) yarn over and draw the yarn through all 6 loops on the hook, ch 1.

Ch 3, turn.

Row 3: Work 4 tr into ch-1 sp, * work 1 dc into next dc, work 9 tr into next ch-1 sp, rep from * across ending with work 1 dc into next dc, work 5 tr into next ch-1 sp.

Ch 1, turn.

Row 4: (Biscuit) Work 1 dc in first tr, * ch 3, work 1 tr into each of the next 9 stitches (ensuring to leave the last remaining loop of each stitch on the hook) yarn over and draw the yarn through all 10 loops on the hook, ch 1, ch 3, work 1 dc into next tr, rep from * across ending with work 1 dc into top of turning ch-3.

Ch 1, turn.

Row 5: * Work 1 dc into next dc, work 9 tr into next ch-1 sp, rep from * across ending with work 1 dc into next dc.

Continue in pattern formation working Rows 2 – 5 and working two consecutive rows of each colour.

Once you’ve worked the length desired then finish with 1 row of black.

Here’s my sample that I worked! I didn’t have a nice biscuit colour in my stash so I threw in a neutral instead.

Next up, an enquiry came in . . . I’m searching for a pattern for lacy crochet socks, can you help? Well look no further!

You’ll find the pattern for the above socks in this Japanese crochet book.

Now of course if you’re going to hook your-self up a pair of these lacy socks I’d recommend you purchase some sock glue. I think you’ll need it. Yes, there is such a thing as sock glue. It will keep your socks up and show off that nice lacy pattern. Sock glue is available here should you require it!

Lots, and I mean lots of enquiries virtually everyday about the Flower Rug. I’ll contact the magazine and see what we can do about circulating the pattern. I know a lot of International readers are desperate for it. In the mean time for Australian residents why not try to track down a copy of the magazine via Trove, a library near you may have a copy.

I also constantly refer to Babel Fish and Google translate on a regular basis, emails arrive in many languages. I speak a little French and some German but that’s about it. It’s so fab to have translation tools online, so if you’ve been wanting to contact me but worried about your English then don’t be, I try my best to get a translation and respond.

So when the below email arrived I headed straight to Google translate. I must put learn Spanish on my list of things!

Hola sarah, me gustaria saber si el diseño este wool eater blanket con que clase de hilo se trabaja
y si tu lo tendrias ese hilo y el numero de gancho para hacerlo. Yo podria comprar en tu tienda
por online?. Gracias.

Hola Maria! consultar su correo electrónico, usted tiene un nuevo correo!

I also help out in the colour department too, sourcing certain colours and advising on colour combos that sort of thing. Hello Claire! the colour code is 1014.

Ok, I best get back to all things Crochet-a-Rainbow, thank you for all your lovely comments yesterday!

Hope to see a few Breaking Bad blankets being hooked in my travels!

30 Comments on “happy to help

  1. Thank you Sarah – so much – for the Breaking Bad Afghan stitch! This will be a fantastic way of making blankets for the Homeless and Needy – I can use up all my odd balls……Yvette from Knitting/Crocheting for Toowoomba’s Needy

  2. I believe I’ve also heard the “catherine’s wheel” wool-eater style thing also called “bavarian crochet” although maybe I’m mistaken and that’s slightly different… I’ve been watching the first couple seasons of Mad Men and there is a blanket very much like the one above in that show too.

  3. Pingback: Finfin virkad filt | Husflit

  4. Sarah,
    this looks like an amazing idea for a blanket. Thanks for the tutorial! As soon as I finish either one of the blankets I have already on the hook (2 granny ones, a granny stripe, a hexagon and a ripple one…) and a kaleidoscope one that I would like to make, this is definitely my new project! Come to think of it, it might be a while before I can start it!! 🙂

  5. What a really lovely pattern, thank you so much for sharing it Sarah!
    Vivienne x
    P.S. Could I have an address to send some squares for Crochet-A-Rainbow please.

  6. That is so funny I,too commented on the afghans on Breaking Bad.You are so awesome,thanks!!!!!!

  7. This is great! I love textured stitches like this one and it is even better when you can use all your scrap yarn to give it a nice colourwork.

  8. Pingback: How-To: Crochet "Breaking Bad" Afghan @Craftzine.com blog

  9. I like that pattern very much, and will be trying it out soon, thanks. It’s funny how once you get into a craft like crochet, you start noticing examples of it on the big and small screen. And there are lots!!

  10. Sarah! Oh. My. Stars! Thank you so much for your generosity. And thank you for sending us this pattern via email.
    I am just starting to try patterns and this will be perfect to add to my every increasing ‘to do’ list.
    THANK YOU SO MUCH! MWAH!

  11. Hi, didn’t there used to be a “search” section on your amazing site? It was quite handy to find old posts and patterns/motifs you used to put up. Love ya work!!

  12. Just wanted to say how much I appreciate your amazing talent, kindness, compassion, and grace. You are an inspiration as well as a very lovely human being.
    Thank you!
    diana

  13. Wow, I am so impressed! I only wish I had the ability to crank out a pattern from a screen shot of a TV show. I’m hanging on to this one for my next afghan! 🙂

  14. Pingback: The Breaking Bad Throw « The Very Best Jumper

  15. I know this isn’t a new posting, but I am in the planning stages of making this into a small bedspread. Can you tell me the width of this sample? That will save me some time determining my starting chain length. Thanks.

  16. Pingback: slow going during finals week « not your average crochet

  17. I have been looking for this patter for long time and now I can make me one, thanks again. Pamela Townsend

  18. I made this same afghan in the late 60’s from a kit for my parents. I may still have the pattern.

  19. Pingback: Yarn Eater! | sugarloops

  20. This was really easy to follow and it looks phenomenal! Great job and thanks VERY much for the pattern!

  21. Pingback: Breaking bad crochet throw – WIP – Redhead crochet

  22. I LOVE YOU FOR THIS! And my brother will, too, when he receives his Breaking Bad afghan!!!!!!!

  23. Pingback: How to Crochet Your Own Blanket - 15 Free Patterns - Made to Celebrate

Leave a comment