Wool Eater Instructions

Crocheted Wool-Eater Blanket

© 2007 Sarah London. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, transmitted, transcribed, scanned, stored mechanically or electronically, or translated into any language without prior permission of Sarah London.

8 ply wool

4mm crochet hook

2731470532_cb607abfbf

Ch 6, join with a slip stitch to form a ring.

1st round: * ch 5, work 4 dtr (wrap yarn around hook twice) into the ring, ensure to leave the last remaining loop of each stitch on the hook as shown in the photo below,

2730631921_b80653f305

now, yarn over and pull the yarn through all 5 loops on the hook.

{1 cluny group made}.

2730631925_1700e9489b

ch 5, slip stitch into the ring.

Rep from * 3 more times. 

{4 cluny groups made}.

2730631929_0f6c4a6946

Round 2: * ch 2, work 12 dtr into the top of the cluny group, ch 2, slip stitch into the slip stitch of the previous round.

Rep from * 3 times.

Fasten off.

{4 corners made}.

2730631935_07e7a15ae3

Round 3: Join new colour in between any 4th and 5th dtr of the previous round.

Ch 5, working from the back around to the front of the stem of the dtr of the previous round, and out at the back, make a cluny group over the next 4 dtr, ch 5, slip stitch in between the 8th and 9th dtr of the previous round, ch 5, work a cluny group of 8 dtr over the next 8 dtr of the previous round, ch 5, slip stitch between the 4th and 5th dtr of the next 12 dtr corner group.

2730631945_628f19a42c

Continue working round in this manner, finishing with a slip stitch into where the contrast yarn was joined at the beginning of the round.

2731470502_c279c23d5d

Round 4: Ch 2, 12 dtr into the top of the 4 cluny group, ch 2, slip stitch into slip stitch of the previous round, ch 2, 8 dtr into the top of the 8 cluny group, ch 2, slip stitch into slip stitch of the previous round.

Continue working round in this manner, finishing with a slip stitch.

Fasten off.

2731470526_105b395ee2

Enjoy!

Please take a look at our flickr group, you’ll find amazing inspiration and gorgeous colour combinations. 

126 Comments on “Wool Eater Instructions

  1. Yippeeeee!!!!! The wool eater blanket pattern….thanks Sarah! Just wish I could make good colour choices like everyone else 😦 Just never seem to get it quite right. Won’t let it put me off though….

  2. Pingback: colour me happy «

  3. Thanks Sarah! I can’t wait to try this! My granny a day is almost done… this is next!

  4. It,s wonderful!!!! Will try it out as soon as I finish the blanket i’m crocheting now.

  5. Thanks so much for the pattern! I am off to try it out!

  6. Alright! I made my first one and this is going to be very addictive! THANK YOU!

  7. so great.
    i love this way to crochet. no more grannies…today i start to crochet wool-eaters.

    thanks for the pattern.

    i set a link on my blog to share your idea. i hope you’ll agree.

    thanks, doro.

  8. This is such a wonderful pattern, thank you so much for sharing!
    I love the colors you choose for your projects. A visit to your blog makes me happy!

  9. THANK YOU FOR THE PATTERN THIS IS SO PRETTY I WILL MAKE THIS MY NEXT PROJECT.
    THANKS AGAIN.
    GRAHAME.
    SOMERSET UK

  10. Hi,
    I love this pattern. There’s alot one could do with color combinations. Do you have any suggestions on joining the squares?

    Thanks, Stormie

  11. Well it is finally the weekend so i think i am going to attempt crocheting this blanket! I am still a beginner so it could be very interesting but i can’t get it off my mind lol so i feel i must try! Love this pattern!

  12. Hello, fantastic yours patterns. My english write is not so good, but my feelings are about your works. Thank you so much by amazing works and to help us with these informations. Congratulations!!!! I”m brazilian and live in Sao Bernardo do Campo – Sao Paulo. Kisses…. Regina.

  13. Thank you for sharing again. I love this pattern. Hoping to make one soon!

  14. Thank you so much for sharing this with us! I’ve just started one this morning and can’t wait to see how it looks all done up!

  15. Hi Sarah,
    I would love an invite to allow me to read your blog pretty please!
    I live in the U.K. where such colourful creations certainly cheer up they day. I love your work and your colour combos. I’ve got one small wool eater blanket that my little granddaughter has and another two wip’s.
    TIA
    Hugs and kisses, Lita xx

  16. Pingback: Sarah London's Wool Eater Blanket | Talk Update

  17. Pingback: Sarah London’s Wool Eater Blanket | Crafts Kids :: Free Crafts Network

  18. It’s really lovely. I bought some yard today, this is my winter project, thank you…

  19. Merci pour ce superbe modèle ………………Vous étes une grande artiste !!!!

  20. What do you do to attach the motifs together neatly??

  21. Your colors pop. This pattern inspires me. I’m going to ask my knitting daughter in law to pass on all of her yarn remnants.

  22. I just finished your wool eater blanket tonight. This is my most favorite blanket ever. Thank you so much for sharing. I know I will be making more of these.

  23. Pingback: Starrilicious » Blog Archive » TGIF

  24. I love this pattern. Can’t wait til after the holidays to try it. Your work is so beautiful. You’ve made the granny square new and vibrant!

    I found the Round Three and Mystery Motif #2. Do you have any other free patters. Or is it a matter of searching through all your posts. I skimmed them – WOW! Perhaps I’ll be able to affor some that are for sale at a later date.

    Thank you for your wonderful work.

  25. Cool, now I know what to do with all my left-overs! Thanks

  26. Adore your color selections and your entire site. It’s so bright and cheery! Love this pattern as well!

  27. It’s wonderful. I love this. Thanks for sharing with us. Congratulations for your work. I’m sorry ’cause my English is so very bad.
    Kisses.
    Sonia.

  28. hi, i like the pattern, and thaks for instruction its realy helpfull , God bless you, waiting for more aidias.

  29. Thanks for posting this pattern, it is absolutely stunning!!

  30. Thanks for sharing your easy to follow instructions for this gorgeous blanket Sarah. I started one last night and am absolutely in love with the pattern and it’s 3 dimensional look. I think it may be my new go to blanket pattern..

    Hugs – Jodie 🙂

  31. This is beautiful. I hate to sound dense but how do you join the finished blocks?

  32. Hi –

    l have been in love with this blanket for a VERY long time! Could you PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE let me know how to join the squares to make a blanket like the one you made??? I love the way you used white to join all the colored blocks together.

    Please e-mail me!

    janine_manzi@yahoo.com

  33. Please tell me how to join or do you just keep going around? I’ve been studying it and studying it, but can’t really understand what to do.

    It is so beautiful. I appreciate your help!

  34. Thanks for sharing, beautiful blog, love it and all the wonderful colors!

  35. Your work is beautiful! Would you please advise on your technique for joining the finished blocks? Thanks.

  36. Can you explain how you joined the squares? My girlfriend & I have tried your instructions & are not sure about joining squares. It’s truly a lovely & very unique style.

    Thanks Linda

  37. I have only just discovered this website – OMG, why have I been wasting time on other sites??? It’s absolutely gorgeous – inspiring me to dig out all my prettiest colours and make wool eater patterned things! Is this the same as Bavarian crochet?

    Many thanks
    Katie, London SE1

  38. Joining the squares has me a little puzzled. I just started making the
    blanket , and have only made a few squares and I already love it.
    I have a lot of yarn I want to use up, and this pattern is one sure way of
    doing it. Please let me know how to join the squares.
    Thanks so much.

  39. Thanks so much for sharing this tutorial with us….
    It is just Great!!!
    Regards,
    Maru

  40. wool eater instructions; I have been working on this for 3 days and still can’t get it going. I really want to learn this, What is the purpose of the ch.5 , it makes and extra loop. and where I connect a new color, nothing fits where it should. I’ve done so many rip outs its getting discourageing here. what to do?

  41. May i ask how much wool it took? I am looking to make one but don’t want to get to little or way to much yarn.

  42. Ok I feel like a complete idiot bc everyone keeps saying this is so easy. I got the first 4 sets of clusters but for the life of me can’t figure out how the 12 dtr are suppose to go. Please someone help me!!!

  43. Susan,

    From what I’ve been told look for the middle top spot of one of the clunky petals. Between the 3rd and 4th dtr for the petal, you’ll find a spot that you can crochet into that is exactly in the middle of the entire petal at the top. I did mine though that… Hope that made sense….

  44. sue the ch 5 does not count as a stitch I was having the same problem with things not fitting where they were supposed to be until I realized that.
    I just finished my first two colors it looks really cool. Think I am going to make a baby blanket. Haven’t tried joining motifs but think I may be able to do a join as you go on the last round and see if that creates large holes or not

  45. Hello! Skulle jag kunna få mönster på svenska

    Thank you Pia-maria

  46. Pingback: Weekly DIY Roundup: Knit and Crochet Blankets!

  47. Pingback: happy to help «

  48. Is there a way to see a completed blanket? how do you connect the pieces together, it doesn’t seem that a slip stictch would work. Thanks!

  49. Hey thanks for this ……….hands up all those who adore Sarah London’s designs!!!!!!!!

    Me, me , me ,me………………………

  50. Pingback: Wooleater and Weaving « orangefaeriedust

  51. I want to keep going around into a big square rather than blocks, but it isn’t clear to me h ow to do round 5 onwards… Maybe I’m slow, but could anyone help?

    Thanks

  52. Has anyone modified this to be rectangular vs square? Thought about just making multiple smaller squares and then putting it together in a rectangle. (twin bed) But not sure I’d like it as well.

  53. I goofed when finishing my blanket. The 1st corner on the 2nd to the last round, I missed 4 stitches. I changed yarn and cut and finished off before I realized my mistake. Other than taking it apart, any suggestions on a quick fix or disguise?

  54. Hello to all….
    I must be missing something… I see the instructions for the squares, but then what? How do we get the squares to become that beautiful blanket. I hope someone can help me with this… my email is zoes.place@yahoo.ca

    Thank You !

  55. This is a fantastic pattern I am trying it for the first time thank you for this

  56. Pingback: life is SO good. « meaganmakes

  57. Pingback: Early Sunday Morning « Knightly Knitter

  58. @BLAZE: You keep adding to the squares. That’s what is so great about the pattern-there will be no tedious sewing of the squares together! Just follow the pattern exactly and it will turn our fine. I had to close myself off from the rest of the world to really get the hang of it! I know you can do it! Good Luck!

  59. Pingback: What I’m Working on Wednesday: Seamless Crochet, Owls, Wool Eater Blanket | Crochet Your Way

  60. You don’t join the squares if I’m understanding the pattern correctly. It took me 3 days to figure out what I was doing wrong to get it to flow correctly. You have to work around like you would a granny square. You will only have 4 dtr groups of 4 in each round and they’re at each corner. Your dtr groups of 8 will go all the way across until you reach the corner and then do your 4 cluny group. Same goes with the 8 dtr and 12 dtr

  61. I love this pattern and the beautiful color combinations. What size crochet hook do you use?

  62. ho provato ma non è molto chiaro il procedimento del lavoro , è possibile avere lo schema più semplificato? grazie Raffaela rikivolpino@libero.it

  63. Pingback: Bavarian Twist · Crochet | CraftGossip.com

  64. This was a beautiful pattern that I hope to try. Thank you.

  65. Sarah, Thank you so very much for share this Brilliant colorful pattern. I learn wonderful things from generous and creative people like you.

  66. Hi I first saw your pattern when my daughter posted on face book, and since then I have made a lot of blankets about 12hundred grms each blanket.I truly love the pattern and can not stop making them.Soon all my friends will have one

  67. Pingback: Top 10 Most Popular Free Crochet Patterns on Ravelry (and 10 Others that are Loved) — Crochet Concupiscence

  68. The dual color is so cute! I love how the whole square is made up of tiny circles. 🙂

  69. Beautiful!! So if I want to make a table runner how do I do that then? Because this is just a square.

  70. I’m in harmony with everyone here…thanks for the pattern. Truly beautiful!

  71. WOW! this is absolutely beautiful! I can’t wait to make it for my grand daughter who will be born in January 2013! I better hurry!!! 🙂 Thank you!

  72. Deeply in love with this page or blog , i love crochet since ever , so everything new that i see and learn , i’m HAPPIER and HAPPIER!. THANKS so much for this place of such gorgeous stuff. Fernanda( Trillizos)!.

  73. Simplement MAGNIFIQUE , j’ en suis à ma dixième maniques : cadeaux pour Noel mille merci

  74. Pingback: Cosy Squares Blanket | Cult of Crochet

  75. There are lovely…
    Thanks for sharing…
    Have a nice day…
    Anna

  76. I made it for my granddaughter who is 2 months old. It is hanging on her crib. I wish I could send you picture! Thank you so much for sharing your art!

  77. I missed out onthe last CAL so I would like to try this one.

  78. I love this pattern! I wonder if it would work with acrylic yarn.

  79. Just found your pattern instructions. With a great-grandchild due to arrive in November, I am ready to start this blanket. Thanks for sharing.

  80. What is 8 ply? All the yarn I have is 4 ply (I think). Is the 8 ply super bulky(as in no. 6)? I love the pattern and can’t wait to get started. I just want to get it right. I hope I’m understanding the connecting part of it. How could you connect all the squares with white like the one commented?

  81. I’m just making my first blanket using your tutorial and I love it. I’ve had people ask about it on my Facebook page so I’ve sent them your way.

  82. This is gorgeous. Can’t wait to make it.

  83. I love love your wool eater blanket.THank You so much for your pattern.

  84. Thanks for sharing your wool eater blanket pattern. Love it, did it in the colors of blue and I am getting great responds. I can’t want until I begin my second king-size blanket in the color of reds and later browns. Got to get my bed ready for the winter months I am so excited about this new pattern being apart of my formal boring life of crocheting. Thank You a Friend of LIFE!!!

  85. Thank you for the free pattern. The pictures are really helpful. My boys are looking forward to “their” new blanket.

  86. Thanks
    Turned into a big granny square of green for a 4 leaf clover and brown for a prayer lapghan for brother in law battling terminal cancer

  87. Pingback: Blog Week Day 2: A Mascot Project |

  88. I have wanted to learn how to do this pattern but could not afford the book. THANKS so much for the free pattern.
    I will get my yarn together and try to learn this beautiful stitch.

  89. Pingback: yarn-over: The Wool Eater Blanket Free… | pasdepalais.com

Leave a comment