simple snowflake

Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without a string of snowflakes!

So instead of making the Christmas Chutney I began crocheting snowflakes.

Feel like hooking a few flakes in a hurry! You’ll find the pattern below, enjoy!!

Simple Snowflake

Australian/UK

Ch 8, join with a sl st to form a ring.

Rnd 1: Ch 3, work 1 tr into ring, ch 3, * work 2 tr into ring, ch 3 rep from * 4 times, join with a sl st into top of beg ch-3.

Rnd 2: Sl st into next tr and ch-3 sp, ch 1, * work 1 dc, ch 3, 1 dc, ch 6, 1 dc, ch 3, 1 dc into ch-3 sp, rep from * 5 times, join with a sl st into first dc.

Fasten off.

 

USA

Ch 8, join with a sl st to form a ring.

Rnd 1: Ch 3, work 1 dc into ring, ch 3, * work 2 dc into ring, ch 3 rep from * 4 times, join with a sl st into top of beg ch-3.

Rnd 2: Sl st into next dc and ch-3 sp, ch 1, * work 1 sc, ch 3, 1 sc, ch 6, 1 sc, ch 3, 1 sc into ch-3 sp, rep from * 5 times, join with a sl st into first sc.

Fasten off.

© Sarah London 2010

32 Comments on “simple snowflake

  1. Hi the snowflake is lovely and it would be nice if it snowed instead of raining

  2. So pretty, thank you for sharing! I’m sure I’ll be whippin’ up a few.

  3. Thank you so much for this pattern. This will be my first snowflake! I am going to start it right now.

  4. Pingback: Simple snowflake « Le monde de Sucrette's blog

  5. When I saw your snowflake pattern yesterday I immediatley started making them and was able to finish 15 of them by days end. They are sweet, beautiful and I am addicted! Thanks so much for sharing your creativity with the world!

  6. I am definitely a beginner, and this is the first pattern I have figured out how to read (I usually need videos LOL) Thanks! It turned out so cute!

  7. So beautiful and so easy! Thanks for sharing. I found a link to your blogpost on Pinterest 🙂

  8. im going to make a little shoebox of these and string them on my gf’s tree across the street! she’s going to love it! my husband giggles and says that i have too much time on my hands, but being a born and bred alaska girl living in arizona, he figures it WOULD be me that tries to create a snowing christmas. going to hand a bunch at random spaces from my ceiling with fishing like too!
    thank you for posting this pattern! its quick and adorable! ❤
    ~Bug

  9. I want to make some of these, but I never learned to read these patterns…what is tr? I’m wondering if I can figure this out…:)

  10. Pingback: Malleja, ohjeita | Pearltrees

  11. I plan to use this pattern for my class at an assisted living facility. One of the ladies is 100 years old. They will love it! Thank you!

  12. Thank you for this tutorial. Snowflakes are amazing and very easy to do!

  13. Super fast and easy….everyone will get one this year on their packages! Thanks!

  14. Thanks for this easy and simple tutorial. I plan on giving them to my family as a tag on their gifts this year:)

  15. I have colleagues who have to work on Christmas Eve… I’ll play Santa’s helper and Han out some of your flakes as gift ornaments. Thank you!

  16. Thank .I love these ..going to show my fellow crafters and pupils ..P5 and up ..They are catching on to crochet quickly ..will be a nice wee challenge

  17. This was such an easy snowflake!! I am using this to make an Elsa (from the Disney movie Frozen) inspired scarf. The recipient will be so pleased with her xmas gift!!

  18. I would love to be able to make this, but only started crocheting two days ago. Literally. I’ve made two potholders and a scarf for a doll, but I can’t make heads nor tails of the instructions here 😦 *sigh*

  19. Thank you so much for this quick and easy pattern. Great Christmas presents for my students as we finish a project on snowflakes.

  20. Pingback: Crochet Snowflake Garland | The Supply Haven

  21. Pingback: Crochet Snowflake Pattern RoundupCreative Ideas | Creative Ideas

  22. Pingback: Crochet Snowflake Pattern Roundup

  23. What does chain 3-space mean
    . It’s at the beginning of round 2

Leave a comment