november :: mystery crochet project

Hooks at the ready!

Let’s get started with this month’s mystery crochet project. To make this project all you need to know how to do is to make a basic granny square. Don’t worry if you’re just starting out and you are more of a beginner, this post has been flooded with step by step diagrams for you to follow so you can join in too.

With the green yarn you need to crochet 12 granny squares. Each consecutive granny square needs to increase in size by one round (take note of the below photo).

For easy reference take note of the chart below.

square 1 = 2 rounds

square 2 = 3 rounds

square 3 = 4 rounds

square 4 = 5 rounds

square 5 = 6 rounds

square 6 = 7 rounds

square 7 = 8 rounds

square 8 = 9 rounds

square 9 = 10 rounds

square 10 = 11 rounds

square 11 = 12 rounds

square 12 = 13 rounds

Now don’t be alarmed, it will take a few days to make all those granny squares, we are going to pace ourselves, the first few squares you’ll have done in a flash, it’s the larger ones that take a bit of time!

Second installment will be posted on Wednesday.

Get crocheting now! That’s right, off the computer, plonk yourself down in a comfy chair and crochet you’re little heart out, we want this made for Christmas 09!

How to Make a Basic Granny Square:

Step-by-Step.

Continue working around as before.

43 Comments on “november :: mystery crochet project

  1. Damn, I can’t stand it not knowing where this is going to! But the green is giving me a little idea… I think I know…

  2. My goodness Sarah, I wanna play along but where to find the time…where can I find that green as well? Tam xo

  3. Thank you! I have been wanting to know how to make a granny square, but couldn’t understand the instructions from the site I looked at. Your pictures make it actually look doable. I hadn’t planned on joining your mystery crochet, but I will definitely be back here soon with my yarn to practice my squares.

  4. Sarah – This looks like such great fun! I am posting a link to this on my blog and hope I will be able to get back to it when my own holiday hand work is complete. There is so much to do and so little time between teaching, cooking, mothering and grandmothering. I will miss the mystery part, but know I will enjoy it none the less. I would like to send readers your way – will you allow me to use a photo to point them in your direction? ~Kelly

    unDeniably Domestic

  5. Is this worsted weight yarn? I need to find us equivalents. I can’t wait to begin!!!!

  6. I have no idea, but I’m so in! Starting right now……thanks for the fun

  7. I love it and I am starting now.

    After I will post a link to this on my blog ,

    Thanks,

    Carla

  8. Sarah, this mystery in green looks like it will be great fun.

    I wanted to let you know that I got quite inspired by your five-pointed stars and the prior post’s garlands, and this morning crocheted and crocheted and crocheted some more, and created a multi-autumnal colored Rowan cotton glace star garland that I will give to a Scorpio friend for a birthday gift tomorrow.

    It turned out just great, and I doubt if there is another one anywhere around here just like it.

    xo

  9. USA people, especially beginners realize that Treble crochet TR as stated in this pattern for us is actually DC double crochet. This is a cool idea.

  10. Oh, I’m excited to try this, been wanting to catch a mystery project early before the finished piece is shown.
    Thanks for doing this!

  11. I am in and I have posted about it on my blog
    very excited and wondering what colour to go with?

  12. I have no idea what this might be, but I’m feeling the urge to start crocheting! 🙂 I I have to substitute yarn though, as I don’t have Panda Magnum in stash. I have either a wool yarn, or cotton — which one do you think will work better for the final item?

  13. Thank you Jennivie for that note! I knew it looked like a DC to me, but I didn’t think of the differences in location.

    Anyway, I’m in the middle of a couple different projects now, but who can deny a mystery?? I’m off to hunt down some green!

  14. Oops, I think mine is going to be rather large… I thought 8 ply was worsted weight! That’s okay, I crochet rather tightly, I’m sure it will work out fine. This is fun, Sarah, thanks!

  15. Wow! I’ve finished the 12 grannys. 🙂 I’m soo ready for the next part.
    Big thank you Sarah, this is so exciting.

  16. Pingback: mystery crochet project « Zenobias Haven

  17. Ooh! Ooh! I want to do this!! This is my first mystery project, and I am sooo excited! Already got most of the squares done. What’s next?

  18. oops… I meant to comment the other day… count me in… I am excited to be crocheting along in suspense with you all.

  19. Pingback: Day 316 « dottydotty’s Blog

  20. Pingback: Speedlink Saturday for Week of Nov 8/09

  21. Hi Sarah,
    My name is Ivani and I am talking from Brazil. I have just discovered your blog and it´s wonderful, you have taste, and a lot of passion. I love this project, even after Christmas, I want to do it.
    I have a question: this sort of green yarn is for babies? Can I use cotton yarn?
    Thanks a lot for yout attention and congratulations for the beautiful job.

  22. Pingback: Blanket addiction | Muddling Along

Leave a comment