Crochet a Yo-Yo Coverlet

Crochet a Yo-Yo Coverlet | Sarah London

Crochet a Yo-Yo Coverlet | Sarah London

Too precious to toss . . . tiny fragments of left over yarn.

Utilize your colourful scraps and hook a yo yo coverlet, cushion or even a scarf!

Crochet a Yo-Yo Coverlet | Sarah London

Crocheting these tiny circles of colour is something that you can work on over time and in turn it becomes a lovely visual diary of the yarn that you’ve used in past projects.

Crochet a Yo-Yo Coverlet | Sarah London

To make a Yo-Yo:

Ch 6, join with sl st to form a ring.

Ch 3, work 15 tr into ring, join with a sl st into top of beg ch-3.

Fasten off.

Use your preferred method of joining . . . for this project I’m joining as I go.

xo sarah

19 Comments on “Crochet a Yo-Yo Coverlet

  1. That is great. I hate to throw them away too. I like yo yos. Would make a cute baby afghan. Thanks

  2. Love this idea! Thanks Sarah. I always feel a bit sad tossing those little bits of yarn into the bin. Now I’ll be saving them!

  3. What a fun pattern and perfect for using up all those reserved bits of yarn! I’m trying it out today!

  4. Cute!!! I don’t know if I have the patience for this, but I will definately keep your pattern in mind. I have so many little leftovers….
    Have a great day!
    Barbara

  5. Love the idea, I have zip lock bags full of little pieces of yarn, I just couldn’t stand to throw away. love Carol

  6. Joining as you go… I’ve never done that before and am always bedeviled by all the little extra tags of yarn left over. I will do that in the future! I have a pile of crocheted yo-yos acquired at an estate sale this is the perfect way for me to use them. I’ll have to figure out that “joining as you go” technique on the yo-yos I already have.
    Jan

  7. Great idea. Is the TR stitch a triple crochet, or a double crochet (as used in the U.S.)? Also, how are you joining the circles? Looks nice and neat. Thanks, Sandy

    On Mon, Jul 1, 2013 at 11:17 PM, WordPress.com

  8. Ooh, these yo-yos are so colorful and cute together. I love the idea of a baby blanket!

  9. Helo dear miss london. i love you and your works too.

  10. What a great way to use up yarn… this is great! Also, you take the beat pictures for your blog. I Know that it has to be an SLR camera…Canon? Nikon? 🙂 Your blog is terrific!
    Thank you. 🙂

    ______
    Lee Ann H
    Posted with Blackberry Z10!
    Crochet…Gotta Love It! Blog

  11. i am very new to crocheting – trying to teach myself now. i know i can make the yo-yos but would like to know how you atrached as you went along. love the idea and appreciate the pattern. LOVE the colors!

  12. Love It !

    How do you do your join as you go ?

    Thank You

Leave a comment