zig zaggy scarf

Have you been swept up with all things zig zaggy, bright and colourful lately? Was it instant love when you previewed ‘Missoni for Target’. Oh my goodness, it certainly was for me!

Perhaps you were lucky enough to have scored yourself a trolley full of goods, if you missed out then why not hook yourself a snazzy chevron scarf!

For my zig zaggy scarf I’ve used 2 strands of 8 ply yarn with an 8 mm hook. As for the palette, you’ll notice in the pic above that I’ve stapled a sample of yarn to each corresponding yarn band. I always do this for easy reference. You’ll also notice that I’ve mixed my composition for this scarf.

  • 8 mm crochet hook
  • 2 balls DK mustard
  • 2 balls DK black
  • 2 balls DK cream
  • 2 balls DK pink
  • 2 balls DK lemon
  • 2 balls DK deep grape
  • 2 balls DK medium purple
Chain 35.
1st Row: Work 1 dc into 2nd ch from hook, * work 1 dc into next 7 ch, work 3 dc into next ch, work 1 dc into next 7 ch, miss 1 ch, rep from * across ending with 1 dc in last ch.
Ch 1, turn.
2nd Row: NOTE: Work in back loops. Work 1 dc into 1st dc, miss 1 dc, * work 1 dc into next 7 dc, work 3 dc into next dc, work 1 dc into next 7 dc, miss 2 dc, rep from * across ending with miss 1 dc, dc in last dc.
Ch1, turn.
Repeat 2nd row until length desired.
Colour sequence:
4 rows black
2 rows cream
2 rows black
2 rows cream
1 row black
2 rows mustard
1 row black
4 rows lemon
3 rows deep grape
2 rows cream
2 rows pink
2 rows mustard
3 rows deep grape
1 row black
4 rows pink
3 rows black
2 rows cream
4 rows mustard
2 rows deep grape
2 rows medium purple
4 rows pink
2 rows cream
4 rows black
Enjoy!
x Sarah

11 Comments on “zig zaggy scarf

  1. Hi there,
    It is a very beautiful chevron scarf and it’s so in fashion. Thanks for sharing!
    Take care,
    Gloria x

  2. hi sarah,
    love your scarf,i love all your patterns.am starting to get a collection and am waiting for
    your book to arrive.you should be very proud of what you do
    kindest regards
    chris.

  3. gorgeous scarf, love the colours so autumny. And I love that you attach your yarn to the ball band, I shall be doing that from now on.

  4. OMG – that is sooo organized!
    i need to do that with my yarn/ball bands (sounds rude lol) and somehow create a filing system.
    can see myself getting really obsessed with how to tag these bands – by weight, fibre, or colour?
    hmmm…

    thanks for sharing another brilliant idea – and pattern – soooo pointy!

    x

  5. You have know idea how long I have been searching for the perfect chevron scarf pattern! I just found it :).
    Thank you so much for creating another wonderful project (adore your wool eater blanket too)

Leave a comment