arctic scarf

Hooks at the ready!

Select seven different coloured balls/skeins of yarn and a crochet hook to correspond.

I went with royal blue, baby pink, marmalade, grey, red, turquoise and purple and a 5.50 mm hook!

Ch 300, work 2 tr, ch 2, 3 tr, ch 2, 3 tr into 4th ch from hook, * ch 1, sk 3 sts, work 3 tr into next st, rep from * 72 times, ch 1, sk 3 sts, work * 3 tr, ch 2, 3 tr, ch 2, 3 tr into next st, working along opposite edge, rep from * 73 times, ch 1, join with a sl st into top of beg ch-3.

Fasten off.

Rnd 2: Join new colour in ch-2 corner sp, ch 3, work 2 tr, ch 2, 3 tr into same sp, ch 1, work 3 tr, ch 2, 3 tr into next ch-2 corner sp, * ch 1, work 3 tr into next ch-1 sp rep from * 73 times, work 3 tr, ch 2, 3 tr into next ch-2 corner sp, ch 1, work 3 tr, ch 2, 3 tr into next ch-2 corner sp, rep from * 74 times, ch 1, join with a sl st into top of beg ch-3, sl st across to ch-2 corner sp.

Fasten off.

Continue in pattern formation.

Of course if you prefer a skinny scarf work less rounds!

Happy Hooking!!

35 Comments on “arctic scarf

  1. OMG, I could so do with that right now (even tho I’m sitting inside) – it’s freezing down here in Hobart!!!!!!!

  2. Very cute! I was thinking of a granny squares scarf but I was afraid of so many squares to sew. This is the perfect solution: many colors and nothing to sew! Great!
    Can you accept comments in italian?
    Kisses from the sea of Genoa!

  3. I love the look of this! Is this something a beginner could do? I’m having a hard time reading the pattern cause I’m really new to this. What does “tr” mean?

  4. This scarf looks great – can’t wait to try it. A question about the pattern:
    “work 2 tr, ch 2, 3 tr, ch 2, 3 tr into 4th ch from hook,”
    Can you clarify this more? Are all of these steps done in the 4th ch from your hook? Thanks!

  5. I love this! it is on my fall this of things to make! Sarah you are amazing. Thank you for sharing this and yes I am pre-ordering your book!

  6. Pingback: Crochet Arctic Scarf | External Brain

  7. So this is just a looooonnnnggg Granny square, but not square. Love it! I might even have the patience to pull this off!
    How long is this one with 300 chain stitches to start? And how wide?
    And for those of us who have crochet hooks with the alphabet, it looks like 5.5mm would be between H (5mm) and J (6mm).
    I will make one of these! I promise!
    Jan

  8. I think the idea is great in school colors and matching parka color for college granddaughters in Colorado and Michigan. Thanks for the idea. Nadine

  9. Mmm – lovely scarf. I would love to see what the ends look like?

  10. Pingback: Ich lerne Häkeln – Teil 1 « TinkerBella's Blog

  11. Lovely scarf and wonderful colors. Thanks for sharing. Ciao

  12. Hi Sarah! I LOVE your patterns! Just one question: Did you use UK crochet terms for this pattern?

  13. I really like the scarf, I’m beginning it now. What do the ends look like?

Leave a comment