Kung Hei Fat Choy!

Sarah London

Kung Hei Fat Choy!

Happy New Year to you!

Chinese New Year celebrations are in full swing, welcoming in, the Year of the Horse.

This is a year of action, of galloping forward, of making great strides in anything you set your mind to.

Be purposeful!

Being the Year of the Horse I couldn’t help but feel drawn to crochet a horse or two as a souvenir. You’ll find the Double Happiness Horse pdf pattern in my store if you’d also like to make one or eight!

Double Happiness Horse pdf Pattern | Sarah London

I’ve gifted a few to friends over the last few days and I also have one that has taken up residence on my desk for the year.

I love everything about Chinese New Year, I especially love fortune cookies!

Fortune Cookie Box | Sarah London

To accompany my gifted horses I’ve been placing a handful of fortune cookies in take-out boxes and decorating the boxes by threading a length of red ribbon through a Chinese coin.

Fortune Cookie Box | Sarah London

I found the small white take-out boxes and fortune cookies at my local supermarket.

The coins you’ll find at new age stores or online Feng Shui supply stores etc.

Fortune Cookie Box | Sarah London

Simply fill each box with a handful of cookies . . .

Fortune Cookie Box | Sarah London

Secure the box with red ribbon and a coin to decorate and Voila!

Fortune Cookie Box | Sarah London

Every Chinese New Year I always purchaseĀ Your Chinese Horoscope by Neil Somerville.

In his 2014 book I particularly loved the following verse . . .

As we march through life,

we each have our hopes, our ambitions and our dreams.

Sometimes fate and circumstances will assist us,

sometimes we will struggle and despair,

but march we must.

For it is those who keep going,

and who keep their aspirations alive,

who stand the greatest chance of securing what they want.

March determinedly,

and your determination will, in some way, be rewarded.

– Neil Somerville

Wishing everyone a fabulous, favourable Year of the Horse!

2 Comments on “Kung Hei Fat Choy!

  1. Sarah,

    I love the sweet little crocheted horse! What a wonderful reminder of the possibilities ahead in this Year of the Horse.

    Be a Blessing,
    Nancy ~ Bead Charmer Girl

  2. Reblogged this on Nancy Dinell-Bead Charmer Girl and commented:
    Are you celebrating Chinese New Year? Sarah London created a Double Happiness Horse pdf in her store in honor of the Year of the Horse. It looks like something you’ll want to post on Pinterest! I hope you enjoy her writing. I find it inspiring.
    Be a Blessing,
    Nancy ~ Bead Charmer Girl

Leave a Reply

