21

Married today for 21 years!

There we were on our wedding day, both 19, I was 5 months pregnant, we had not a clue what lay ahead. It’s been a whirlwind of a journey!

Our song that we danced to on our wedding day was Don’t Know Much by Linda Rondstadt.

I’d love to know what your special song was on your wedding day, if you’d like to share then please leave a comment.

A huge thank you to everyone who has commented or emailed me privately in regards to my previous post . . . moving forward!

37 Comments on “21

  1. Just realized that we didn’t have an song. I made a mix CD of a bunch of songs that were played on a CD player during the reception (we didn’t do fancy) but no particular song was singled out. Whaaaa… Now I want one!

    BTW… LOVE the picture!

  2. Congratulations! Sadly I didn’t make the distance, but the song I remember most from my wedding day was Gun’s and Roses’s November Rain. We were married on the 28th of November, so it was fitting. However, every cloud has a silver lining, and my partner of 4and a nd a half years and I have a ‘song’, Chasing cars, by Snow Patrol. I didn’t think he remembered until he came into work a couple of weeks ago, and it was on the radio, and he said, “they’re playing our song dear”. Sweet Hey! That earned a special thought and a few brownie points!

  3. Congratulations on your anniversary! Hope you have many more!!! You continue to inspire me!

  4. Congratulations!!! May you be blessed with many more years together❤

  5. Our special wedding song was “Love Me Tender”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Congratulations!!! We have just celebrated our 15 year wedding anniversary (I was 18 when we got married!). You look so beautiful!

    Our song was by a band called Kings X – “The Difference”

  7. 21 years!!!!!!!! Congratulations! I was married when I was 37weeks preggers!!!!!!!!!!!
    We didn’t have a band or song at our wedding, we were married in the park with 2 witnesses, the celebrant, the celebrants husband & their 3mth old baby. We then went to The Windsor for High Tea – so no speeches, no dances, no hassle!!!!!!

  8. Congratulations on reaching 21 years together. Your wedding photo is lovely. My husband and I have been married for 10 years and our wedding song was ‘At Last’ by Etta James.

  9. congratulations to you both. We have been married 12 years and we had the theme song from the titanic, sung by celine dion – my heart will go on. I know cringe, but we both liked it!

  10. Congrats!

    We had our 10th anniversary in Octobre. Our special songs were Glory of Love by Peter Cetera and Because You Loved Me by Celine Dion.

  11. Congratulations! You are so inspiring in many ways. 🙂 Our special song was “A Kiss Is Just A Kiss” by Billie Holiday. We’ve only been married two years, but it feels like we’ve been together forever (in a good way).

  12. Congrats! Our wedding song was Fields of Barley as sung by Sting. We have known each other for 28 years, been in love for 17 years and married for 15 still going strong!

  13. Elton John’s “Our Song”. 40 years ago and it is still around.
    Glad you are posting again🙂
    Barbara

  14. Well done, 21 years, congrats what a lovely photo. We’re 14 years, 4 kids ,1 cat and dog later. Our song was Harry Connick Jnr, “It had to be you”. (of course) Hope the next 21 years are just as much fun for you both!

  15. It is beautiful, congratulations.
    Our special song was ” A love so beautiful” by Michael Bolton.
    Both are very handsome
    Congratulations

  16. We’re coming up on 5 years and our wedding song was “I Cross My Heart” by George Straight but the funny thing is the song that always makes me think of my wedding day is the Daddy/Daughter dance song we had, “I Loved Her First”. And usually if you asked either of us what “our song” is, we’d say Bless the Broken Road by Rascal Flatts which we’d never even heard of when we got married. Love your picture by the way. Congratulations on 21 years! You’re an inspiration!

  17. Congratulations. Well done. We are 19 years this year. Our wedding songs were True Companion by Marc Cohn and Patience by Guns & Roses.

  18. Hubby and I were married 21 years last August. Second marriage for both of us, both of us were 36 and we had custody of his two kids and my four kids, talk about a whirlwind! They were between 8 and 15 and blended together as if they were all full siblings. Our song was Anne Murray’s “Could I Have This Dance”! We’re still dancing and plan to for the rest of our lives!

  19. Congratulations!
    We didn’t really have a song, so we chose ‘The look of love’ by Dusty Springfield.

  20. Congratulations Sarah, Love the photo.

  21. Without You by Harry Nilsson – Congratulations.

  22. i remember your song so well. . .. .my husband and i were married 17 years ago. we danced to “unforgettable” by natalie cole and nat king cole. my husband is, truly, an unforgettable man!

  23. 21 years! congratulations🙂 you realise you’ve been married for more years than you haven’t?!
    we shared our wedding day with friends (as in two couples got married) and we didn’t do the traditional dance so we don’t have a song, but I remember the song I walked down the aisle to for my fist wedding when I was 21, Fade In to You by Mazzy Star, and even though that didn’t work out, I still love it!

  24. My husband and I were married 19 years on Monday. Our song was Unforgettable by Natalie Cole (and Nat King Cole). I love your dress!!!! and the Flowers are beautiful!! Congratulations.

  25. Congratulazioni,
    il prossimo luglio io e mio marito ricorderemo il 27° anno di matrimonio, ma noi non abbiamo una canzone.Ciao

  26. My husband and I just celebrated our 19th wedding anniversary last Sunday and our song was and always will be “somewhere” from West Side Story. There are so many wonderful versions but our favorite is by Tom Waits. Congratulations — lovely photo!

  27. So, so glad to see you are moving on. I was hoping to come here today to find something new. We did not necessarily have a song as others do. There was no reception, no first dance in front of all. We were married in the company of our children and parents, in our livingroom, lit by the Christmas tree on New Year’s Day. When we said goodbye to our guest we hugged and began our tradition of dancing barefoot in the kitchen. We do so every day. Our song? Let it Be Me – Everly brothers. Thank you – your picture is lovely. ~Kelly

    unDeniably Domestic

    The Heart in Hand Project

  28. Congrats on your anniversary and a beautiful song selection! I always thought that song was as close to a perfect duet as is ever possible!

    I was married in 1996 and our song is “when I fall in love, it will be forever” by Nat King Cole, but we did the Natalie Cole and also the Celine vesions at the reception. And, lucky us, we’re still forevering!

  29. My soon to be brother in law wrote us our ‘walk down the aisle’ music. We have just come back from a weekend away celebrating 20 years🙂

  30. A belated congratulations to you both! You look beautiful on your special day and he’s very handsome.🙂

  31. Our song on July 28, 1978 was Forever Young… Bob Dylan, among others

  32. Congrats to you both. I walked down the isle to Ronin Keating When you say nothing at all and our bridal waltz was Van Morrison Have I told you lately, but “our” song as such is George Harrison what is life. That was a bit fast tempo’d for us to dance to as i have broken my ankle only 10 weeks before we got married so walking down the isle and the bridal waltz were a feat in themselves.

  33. Running somewhat late, never mind… Congratulations on your 21st… You made a very handsome couple & still do I bet…
    We have been married 42 years coming up 43 in Oct & we played Dr Zhivago theme – no daning though… my fav at the time… we were in the same position I was 41/2 mths pregnant & we haven’t looked back…
    I would say we have had a great life… some ups & downs as life dishes out, just making us stronger as life goes on… we have 4 adult children that do us proud all the time & have 5 precious Grandies that I absolutely adore, ranging in age from 19yrs – 8 mths. I must say it is so lovely to have a baby in our lives again…

Leave a Reply

