to, Japan

The first shipment of Crochet-a-Rainbow blankets will be delivered to Japan!

Teddy from Japan Alive will see that the blankets are distributed to those who have lost everything.

Below is a small extract from an email I received from Teddy:

My husband and I along with our youngest son and his Australian fiance were right in the middle of one of the worst hit places in Japan.  We had no damage to our houses, but the village below us was absolutely destroyed.  We watched in horror as the tsunami came ashore.  Probably the sound was just as bad as the sight!  Our town, Shichigahama, has a lot of high hills and people had about 25-30 minutes to get to safety. Right now there are 200 people dead or missing.  That is 10 per cent of the population.   Other villages had 3 minutes warning and could not possibly escape.  It is so very sad.  Thank you for your prayers and concern for the Japanese people.

Teddy kindly shipped a huge box of granny squares for Crochet-a-Rainbow just before the earthquake and tsunami devastated Japan.

I know we have all seen images and footage of Japan in the media recently, but I’d like to share with you a sampling of photos taken by Christina. Christina is engaged to Teddy’s son. You can view more of Christina’s photos here.

Map of Shichigahama – the blue shows the areas that were hit by the tsunami.

Hanabuchihama (view from the shrine).

Hanabuchihama – cleared roads and a very cold day.

Seiyu – people waiting for hours to get a few items from the supermarket.

A photo album found and placed on the announcement board at the Kokusai Mura.

Absolutely heartbreaking images, Japan certainly needs the promise of a rainbow!

To accompany the blankets I would like to enclose a postcard of the world, displaying in shaded areas the countries, representing everyone who has crocheted granny squares for Crochet-a-Rainbow. So I’d like recommendations for the best printing companies to have our postcards printed, please leave a comment or email me.

Also I’d like some woven labels made, again, any recommendations of companies please leave a comment or email me.

I know many of you are still waiting to sign up to Crochet-a-Rainbow, again please be patient, emails are going out in stages, the most important thing is to start hooking granny squares! We have many blankets to make!

11 Comments on “to, Japan

  1. Hi Sarah!
    Great Blog Post! We use C J King in WA for all of our printing needs .They are great on price and quality. Express Cards in Melbourne are also good for printing. You need to open an account, but it is well worth it. They can do smaller runs as well as big ones, and will freight the goods to you.

    Hope this helps, and good luck with it all!

    Blessings!

    Penni x

  2. It is just so overwhelming, you just cani’t imagine what it would be like to lose not only everything you own but, more importantly, friends and family in just an instant.
    I’m sure the blankets will help in a small way to let them know others are thinking of them because, they do indeed, need a rainbow.
    Carol xx

  3. I’m so heartbroken looking at those images, yet hopeful because blankets will be heading to Japan. I’m sending positive energy to all of those affected.

    BTW, I have no good suggestions on particular printers or label makers, but isn’t there some entity close to you that might donate them for your effort?

  4. Hi, I would love to participate in Crochet-A-Rainbow and am going to see if I can get some of our community involved. How do I get involved?

  5. i just wanted to say how much i admire you for taking the time to organise these blankets. my little old hands are hooking as fast as possible for this.

    hugs x

  6. I joined the Flickr group and will keep an eye out for your next call for squares. Will be working on mine in the meantime. I love crocheting grannies and am excited that I’ll be able to do something nice for a good cause. Love your blog!!

  7. Wow, you are amazing for organizing this! Reading your post gave me the shivers (good ones of course!!) for doing something to help people in such need. If only I could crochet!! I’m a knitter😦 lol

Leave a Reply

