round six

IMG_5868

Round six:

Join new colour in any tr.

Ch 3, work 4 tr in same space, * skip 1 st, dc in next st, sk 1 st, 5 tr in next st, rep from * around, finish with dc in next st, join with a sl st in 3rd ch of beginning ch-3.

Fasten off.

That concludes this month’s mystery motif. I’m joining my motifs as I go. You’ll find my tutorial for ‘joining as you go’ here which you can adapt to join these motifs with if you like.

I loved how this motif progressed with each round. Starting with a dainty daisy, which was showing all the signs of becoming an octagonal motif, I quickly spun it around and formed a circular motif, with a round of green, the fourth round called for a neutral colour for balance, which then allowed for a simple ring of colour to be added next. To imitate old fashioned doilies, which is what I set out to do, a round of scallops finished the motif nicely and made way for the motifs to be joined easily. I love it when all elements fall into place like that.

I have more motifs made ready to be joined together, hopefully sometime over the week end. I’m thinking 5 x 5 motifs will make a nice throw.

Did you know that the invention of the doily is credited to Mr D’Oyley, a successful 17th century milliner, will you do now, I love the old fashioned spelling of ‘D’Oyley’.

I picked up a vintage D’Oyley holder at a market many moons ago, it’s features exquisite embroidery and a lovely picot crocheted edging, it’s backed in linen and has an opening for you to place your freshly pressed D’Oyleys in for storage.

IMG_5876

This month’s mystery motif needs a name, something with the word ‘D’Oyley’ incorporated into it I’m thinking, do you have any suggestions, if you do then please leave a comment!

Happy Saturday! enjoy the week end.

13 Comments on “round six

  1. Merry Go D’Oyley

    Merry Go Round D’Oyley

    Merrily Go D’Oyley

    this is hard…..!

  2. I am thinking Daisy D’Oyley would be a good name. I have really enjoyed this mystery motif. Thank you

  3. Great finale, Sarah.

    I again commend you on your very clear instructions.

    For a pattern name, I am thinking of some sort of variation on

    rondeau – lay … or rondel – ay!

    Whatever the name, it is a lovely pattern that I do want to try … if I even find some more free time.

    Best wishes!

  4. Looks like a modern take on the classic wagon wheel pattern that was used for runners and tablecloths.

    What do you think about a filler motif for the empty spaces left in the middle of the four circles? A lot of the traditional patterns use a smaller version of the main motif.

    I have considered making a wagon wheel runner or doily myself. I’ll have to think about using color in addition to the classic white. It looks great with your motifs–a fresh take on a classic style, both elegantly old-fashioned and modern at the same time.

  5. Divine and rich! I love your little pattern. It so reminds me of a fresh colorful garden. “A Color Garden D’Oyley”.
    Thank you so very much Sarah for sharing with us.
    Blessings on you!

  6. Thank you so very much for sharing another wonderful mystery crochet adventure with us. I enjoyed it very very much! A name for this pattern. Let me think….Do you like Tribute to mr D’Oyley? Again, thank you so much for sharing. Greetings from Holland.

  7. Love the colours, love the pattern, that finishing colour works beautifully. I was wondering if you’re going to fill in the spaces too?
    How about the name “Mrs.D’Oyley”. Or “D’Oyley Dots”. Or “Mrs.D’Oyley’s Dots”.
    Love Vanessa xxx

  8. Sarah, you are, most undoubtedly, the neatest crocheter I have ever seen in my entire life. Your little D’Oyley’s are totally exquisite!!!!! I just keep staring at their pretty perfection!

  9. Pingback: where your heart is » Blog Archive » Hockerbezug

  10. HI,
    I do not have a name suggestion but I would like to THANK YOU for the instructions. I have also gathered the previous tutorial. I am still very new to crocheting ( do not know how to knit) for I have only made a round pillow,~turned out hilariously but still fine🙂
    Is this addicting?

    With Kindness,
    Mary

Leave a Reply

