Guest Post by Kathryn Vercillo

I’d like to welcome my friend Kathryn here today to share a few words with us in regards to her newly published book, Crochet Saved My Life.

This is a guest post by Kathryn Vercillo, the blogger behind Crochet Concupiscence. She has just released a new book, Crochet Saved My Life, about the mental and physical health benefits of the craft. 

New Book: Crochet Saved My Life, The Mental and Physical Health Benefits of Crochet

A woman suffers a violent attack and the trauma of a trial to bring her attacker to justice. She struggles with PTSD and related symptoms including depression and anxiety. To heal, she crochets squares for charity, creating projects filled with love to help comfort those who have also been through what she’s been through.

Another woman struggles with fear and worry as she goes through days of temporary blindness caused by a condition that doctors can’t seem to diagnose. She works through the feelings by crocheting, focusing on pulling up one stitch at a time and how she can still be productive in this small way even if her sight never returns.

A third woman battles low self-esteem and depression after a long bout of unemployment. She finally starts up an Etsy store filled with her crocheted items. It may not support her family entirely but it allows her to contribute to her household income and feel useful and confident again.

These are just three of the stories that were told to me as I researched material for my new book, Crochet Saved My Life. The book begins with my own true story of healing through a lifelong experience of depression thanks in part to crochet. As I began to hear these other stories, I knew it was important that I share what these women had to say as well, so the book also incorporates their tales, often in the women’s own words. With each new story I heard and shared, I became impressed even further that this simple, affordable, common craft could be the tool that helped dig so many women out of their deepest holes in life.

What I learned is that there are dozens of different ways in which crochet can help people to heal. The very nature of the repetitive act of crocheting with a soft and soothing yarn is calming. It reduces stress, lowers blood pressure, breaks negative thought cycles and gives the body downtime to mend itself. The repetition also releases serotonin, which is helpful in battling depression and also acts as a natural painkiller so it’s useful for chronic mental health conditions as well as chronic pain problems. Crochet allows the practitioner to build their fine motor skills, making it useful as an occupational therapy tool for people of all ages. And crochet provides a focus for group activities, which can help facilitate therapy sessions, support groups and substance abuse meetings.

Of course, you don’t have to be ill to benefit from crochet. One of the best ways to stay healthy is to take a proactive approach by leading a well-rounded, positive, restful, creative lifestyle. Crochet offers that for many of us. You can celebrate yourself, do something you enjoy, create connections to others and rejuvenate both mind and body by taking the time out to crochet regularly. Whether you work on simple granny square projects or complex afghans using unique stitches, the benefits of the craft are the same. You probably don’t need a reason to crochet more but if you do, it’s really just what the doctor ordered!

Learn more about the book here.

Buy it online here.

Download on Kindle here.

10 thoughts on “Guest Post by Kathryn Vercillo

  1. This you will identify with. I did. Enjoy

    “The first time someone shows you who they are believe them.” Maya Angelou

    Move, and the way will open. Zen Proverb. Sent from my iPhone

  2. Crochet also saved my life. I was born
    with a heredity illness. I have experienced
    periods of illness, hospitalization, and being
    home unable to work. Crochet make me feel productive. Even if I only feel well enough
    to make a dishcloth. I crochet and knit while
    I am hospitalized, wait at doctor appointments, and medical testing. I spend
    a lot of time getting treatments for eight
    hours a day. Crochet helps when I am I’ll.

  3. When I was told my son was Down Syndrome, the only thing I could think of was to ask my Aunt for some yarn, (I was staying with her at the time). I started making my son a sweater. This happened 44 years ago. I’m still crocheting.

  4. Ohhh… how I can relate to what Kathryn has said here & Kathryn’s book… as soon as I heard/read about her book I ordered it, hopefully it will arrive this week or the next…
    I have always said that crochet has been my life-saver through all of life’s ups & downs… When the kids were babies it kept me calm & de-stressed… then when hubby was finally diagnosed with war related PTSD & the years of therapy we both went through & now for my chronic arthritic pain… it has always been there keeping me company like meditation… with lovely items to show for the crochet.
    Kathryn I do wish you all the very best with your book… it’s a winner, I’m positive…

  5. Me conmovio mucho está historia que es común a tantas mujeres.COnsidero la lectura, la lecturajardinería y el tejido sumamente curador terapeuticos.

  6. How weird, I purchased this book a fortnight ago after stumbling across it on Amazon! It is an amazing read, it has really helped me in explaining what crochet does for me to others. I am 35 with severe asthma and arthritis, as well as a handful of a 2yr old son. I cannot thank Kathryn and the contributors of stories enough for making me feel less alone.

  7. My grandma taught me crochet when I was a (hyperactive) child and since then it’s been a panacea for me, helping me cope with anxiety, illness and grief. I hope this book will make more people aware of the healing and soothing effect it has.

  8. About 6 weeks ago some wool was donated to the school where I work. I looked at all the wonderful colours and had an urge that I wanted to make something. I have been very depressed for the last 8 years or more and haven’t made anything for about 12 years. I decided to see if I could still crochet and discovered crochet tutorials on you-tube. Well I have gone mad about crochet and have become an addict and I am absolutely loving it. I know it is healing me and Im amazed to find that you’ve written a book with stories of other women it has helped. I love all the colours I can choose, I love the hooking of the wool and the two beautiful blankets I cannot believe I have made. I think about it all the time and plan what I’m going to make next. I’ve also been making cool little cellphone covers with flowers on them and hearts and a crochet hook holder (crocheted of course). I’m one happy addict and I can’t believe how it consumes me instead of being consumed by sad and angry thoughts.

Leave a Reply

